Top Natural Beauty & Skincare Products for Sensitive Skin

Hi There!

Today I thought I would share my top picks for natural beauty/skincare products for sensitive skin. This is a subject that hits very close to home because I have very, very sensitive skin. As you might imagine, it tends to make shopping for skincare items a bit depressing since I react to about 95% of regular products.

Back in high school, I almost never had acne breakouts and my “beauty regimen” basically consisted of “wash and go”. I had a mild case of eczema on my right leg, but other than that, I was blemish-free. How lucky I was and I didn’t even know it!

I took clear, normal skin for granted, thinking what I had in high school was what I’d be blessed with for the rest of my life. I was very naive and very wrong.

Things changed in college, and got worse after that. I haven’t pinpointed what the root cause is, but perhaps it’s genetics playing out as I grow older. My mother has problems with rosacea and eczema, and her skin is so sensitive that there is almost nothing she can use on her skin that doesn’t cause a problem. She cannot use anything that contains parabens, which limits her immensely. She’s got a skincare graveyard in her closet that contains all the items she’s bought but haven’t worked for her. Sometimes she’ll pass them on to me to see if they’ll work for me. Sometimes they work, but more often they don’t.

However, after lots of research and trial and error, I have discovered some excellent products out there for us sensitive skin sufferers.  Here are some of my favorites, which I share with you in hopes that some of these may benefit you too.

     

HAIR

Jason Natural Products Smoothing Sea Kelp Shampoo & Conditioner for Frizzy Hair

Jason Natural Products Smoothing Sea Kelp Shampoo & Conditioner: tames and smoothes frizzy hair
Jason Natural Products Smoothing Sea Kelp Shampoo & Conditioner: tames and smoothes frizzy hair

My hair is extremely thick and also wavy, but quite fine. I’m always on the hunt for hair care products that will encourage my hair lie flat and smooth.

This shampoo and conditioner work wonderfully. They make my hair incredibly soft, they detangle, and they do exactly what they say they’ll do—fight frizz. They are enriched with sea kelp, ginseng root, and kukui nut oil, and they have what I think is a very appealing subtle scent to them. They are also paraben, SLS, and phthalate free.

I cannot speak highly enough of these products.  If you’ve got thick and unruly hair, I recommend giving these a try.

Organix Brazilian Therapy Keratin Flat Iron Spray

Organix Brazilian Therapy Keratin Flat Iron Spray
Organix Brazilian Therapy Keratin Flat Iron Spray

For those days when I want to use my flat iron to look a little more polished, this product is an absolute must. It not only protects my hair from the extreme heat of the flat iron, it gives it a totally sleek look and smells divine (think: coconut).

Its got a combination of Brazilian cocoa nut oils with hydrolyzed keratin proteins, as well as organic coconut oil, organic avocado oil and cocoa butter.

The end result: straight, smooth, shiny locks.

      FACE

The most sensitive part of my body is my face, hands down. It’s part oily, part dry, and loves to break out in bumps, hives, and pimples at the slightest provocation.  It’s pretty irritating.

I’ve tried almost every facial product in the book, including dermatologist recommended Cera Ve and Cetaphil, to no avail.  In fact, the Cetaphil, which is supposed to be what you use if you have highly sensitive skin, actually made me break out in hives.

I finally found some solace in Origins’ Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash.

Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash

Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash
Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash

This stuff is a bit on the expensive side, but it is absolutely worth every penny, and a little goes a long way.  I can easily use it for at least six months, if not longer. This stuff smells fantastic (due to Bergamot, Spearmint, and Lavender), and it’s gentle on the skin. The Spearmint invigorates skin as it cleanses, giving you a refreshed, cool feeling. It contains Broad Leaf Kelp Extract to combat excess oil production, as well as Wheat Protein to balance and protect dry areas.

If you’ve got combination sensitive skin like me, this stuff is the bee’s knees!

Lumene Vitamin C + protecting Day Cream with SPF 15

Lumene Vitamin C Day Cream
Lumene Vitamin C Day Cream

Wow, this Finnish skincare product is incredible. It is very light, makes my skin as smooth as a baby’s bottom, and gives off a subtle orange smell. It also protects against UVA/UVB rays with SPF 15. Arctic cloudberry seed oils protect skin from stress factors and aging.

      BODY

Body Shop Earth Lovers Apricot & Basil Shower Gel

Body Shop Apricot & Basil Shower Gel

I love this stuff!  The combination of apricot and basil extracts is tantalizing and using this body wash makes my skin incredibly smooth. In fact, I find that I have almost no need for lotion after using this shower gel, which is due to the fact that it’s soap-free and doesn’t strip skin of its moisture. The Body Shop also offers a fragrance-free option in its Earth Lovers line if you prefer no scent.

The packaging is 100% biodegradable, and the body wash is 100% sulphate, paraben, and colorant-free.

Alba Botanica Cream Shave in Mango Vanilla

Alba Cream Shave Mango Vanilla
Alba Cream Shave Mango Vanilla

When I first tried this shaving cream, it took a little getting used to. Unlike other commercial shaving creams and gels, this stuff doesn’t lather. In fact, once you smooth it on your legs, its basically invisible to the eye. Don’t let this deter you.

Alba’s yummy-smelling shaving cream gives the closest shave while injecting tons of moisture into the skin. I’ve tried Skintimate, Gilette, and many other well-known shaving cream brands, and even the ones that are specifically formulated for sensitive skin give me problems. I end up with dry, red, bumpy, itchy skin.  Not so sexy.

Alba’s mango vanilla shave cream is enriched with aloe vera, vitamin E, and jojoba, and gives a close, smooth shave.  It’s soap-free, formulated for both men and women, and works on all skin types.  It’s hypo-allergenic, pH balanced, has no synthetic colors, and is 100% vegetarian.

It’s a product that will make your legs feel good and that you can feel good about!

LIPS

For many years, Burt’s Bees was my go-to chapstick of choice. I loved it so much that every year at Christmas, my mom would include one in my stocking.

But one day, out of nowhere, my skin revolted and decided that Burt’s Bees just wasn’t going to cut it. I developed a tingling, itchy feeling whenever I applied the lip balm, and also broke out in hives. I was sad because I truly loved the product. Enter Neutrogena Naturals.

Neutrogena Naturals Lip Balm

Neutrogena Naturals Lip Balm

I’ve had relatively decent luck with Neutrogena products over the years, so when I saw that they’d launched a new natural line, I thought I would give it a try. I’m so glad I did.

It’s fragrance-free, but softens and moisturizes my lips as well as Burt’s Bees did, thanks to Vitamin E. It is 100% naturally derived, and the lip balm tube is manufactured from post consumer recycled plastic.

Here’s what really bums me out though—about six months ago, I noticed that none of the stores that typically carry Neutrogena Naturals lip balm were stocking the product. I don’t know if it isn’t selling all that well or what, but I couldn’t find it anywhere. Now, I have to resort to ordering it on Amazon.  I hope this product never disappears—it would really be a shame.

EOS Organic Lip Balm Sphere – Strawberry Sorbet

EOS Strawberry Sorbet lip balm
EOS Strawberry Sorbet lip balm

Last but not least, EOS Organic Lip Balm Sphere in Strawberry Sorbet is my go-to flavored lip balm. It comes in a bright, adorable egg-shaped capsule and smells like sweet summer berries. Vitamin E nourishes and smoothes, and it’s also paraben, petroleum, and SLS-free.

That completes my list of recommended beauty and skincare products for sensitive skin. Is my list missing a product that you think is amazing for sensitive skin?  Please let me know!

Have a Happy Easter all!

R

3 thoughts on “Top Natural Beauty & Skincare Products for Sensitive Skin

  1. This is great!! I definitely want to check out pretty much all these products now! I’m always looking for good stuff, but never know where to start.

Leave a Reply

