The Best Coconut Macaroon Recipe Ever

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I make the most amazing macaroons. So amazing, in fact, that on more than one occasion I’ve been told by someone they’re the best macaroons they’ve ever had.

What’s almost as great as the fact that these macaroons taste so good is the fact that they are also incredibly easy to make.

There are only five ingredients: egg whites, flaked coconut, vanilla extract, sweetened condensed milk, and salt.

Make this recipe at your next party or other social event and I promise you your guests will rave about them.

Coconut Macaroons

Makes 18 – 24 (depending on how large you like to make your macaroons)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg white
  • 2/3 cup of sweetened condensed milk
  • 3.5 cups flaked coconut

Tools

  • parchment paper
  • baking sheet
  • wooden spoon
  • medium-sized bowl
  • cooling rack

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Place rack in upper third of oven.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Alternately, you can use well-greased aluminum foil.

In a medium-sized bowl, thoroughly mix together egg white, sweetened condensed milk, vanilla extract, and salt.

Once well combined, add the flaked coconut and mix well.

Drop tablespoon-size dollops of the mixture onto parchment paper, making sure that each dollop is 2 inches apart from the other.

Place mixture at least two inches apart on parchment paper
Place mixture at least two inches apart on parchment paper

Place baking sheet on oven rack (only bake one sheet at a time), and bake for 15 – 20 minutes until macaroons are a light golden brown.

Remove macaroons from oven and let cool for 10 – 15 minutes until just warm. Carefully peel from parchment paper or foil and enjoy!


Delectably crispy coconut macaroons
Delectably crispy coconut macaroons

To store, wrap macaroons in saran wrap and place in an airtight container. Macaroons can keep this way for a couple of weeks.

Try them out and let me know what you think!

Rebecca Cretella

14 thoughts on “The Best Coconut Macaroon Recipe Ever

  1. I love them too–I hope you’ll give this one a try! It’s so easy with very short prep time, and these taste heavenly. If you decide to make them, let me know what your think! πŸ™‚

    • Oh no, I’m sorry to hear that, Melissa and sorry for the delayed response–I just returned from my honeymoon. Hmm, I’ve never heard of such a thing happening before. By puddled, do you mean that they melted in the oven?

  2. Thank you so much! I made these this afternoon after finding your recipe and it worked perfectly! I changed it slightly by making the macaroons bigger by using an ice cream scoop and they looked lovely. It made approximately 9 large ones. Yum!!!

    • Hello Michelle, sorry for the delay getting back to you–I just returned from my honeymoon in St. Lucia last night. Thank you so much for the feedback; I’m so glad they worked out for you! And what a great idea to use an ice cream scoop! I will have to give that a try in the future…I’m sure they looked lovely and I imagine the scoop would help them hold together that much better. Thank you again for the feedback and Happy New Year πŸ™‚

      • Hi Rebecca, I just wanted to say ‘congratulations’ on your wedding!!! I hope you had a wonderful honeymoon and I look forward to trying more of your recipes. Best wishes Michelle

      • Thank so much, Michelle, we did! It’s hard not to love a beautiful place like St. Lucia. We had a couple mishaps as you can read about in my latest post, but lots of great times too. There are definitely more great recipes to come this year, so stay tuned. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

