An Organized Mail Center

photo-4

Hi Y’all!

Last week I talked about how to reduce paper clutter in your home, and I also mentioned that I had recently implemented a mailing center that was really helping me manage my own paperwork.

I’m really excited to finally share my new mail center with all of you. The inspiration for this came from A Bowl Full of Lemons. I needed something compact, that could hold a lot, that I could add many categories to, and that was easily transportable.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve tried other methods for organizing my mail—I used one that I could hang on the wall, I used another free-standing one but found that it was too small for my use and couldn’t function in the way I needed it to.

This mail station was extremely easy to create and also budget-friendly, which is always something I keep in mind. It was an excuse to return to pretty much my favorite place on earth, also known as Target. If I could spend every day in Target I would. I found these adorable file folders in the office supplies section. They are from Greenroom, like the adorable binder I used to create my own Home Management Binder last month.

photo-2

photo-1

I also purchased a simple wire hanging file folder basket and then used some bright hanging file folders as well.

photo-3

photo-2

Why did I use both regular folders AND hanging file folders, you may wonder? You certainly don’t have to, but I prefer it. Being able to pull the floral folders right out and carry them with me, say, to my study where I file items is extremely handy. Or, say, if I want to pay a bunch of bills at once.

I really love the folder labels, which I found on World Label’s blog. What a fantastic resource for free printables—if you haven’t been there, check it out. The folder labels are editable, so I created them and then printed them out on label paper.

Source: World Label
Source: World Label

I decided that I needed 8 different folders for my ideal mail station. I needed one for:

  • Incoming Mail
  • Outgoing Mail
  • Bills to Pay
  • Items to File
  • Me (Rebecca)
  • Fiancé (Jeff)
  • Receipts
  • Coupons

photo-3

So far this system has worked really well for me. It’s easy for my fiancé and I to use, and it’s great because if I’m really busy I can get away with sorting through it once a week. At the end of the week, I can carry it over to my living room coffee table, sift through the contents, and then file, pay, or write correspondence as I need to.

Do you also have a dedicated mail center for your incoming mail? What type of method are you using and how does it work for you?

R

Leave a Reply

