Anatomy of a Housewarming Gift Basket

housewarming-gift-basket

Hi!

I don’t know about you but I love to give gifts. I really enjoy shopping with the intent of finding unique items that will put a smile on someone’s face. Today I thought I would share with you my idea for assembling a housewarming gift basket. I picked up all of the items for my gift basket, including even the basket itself, from Target. I love Target because it’s affordable, classy, modern, and good quality.

Here are a few tips for selecting your housewarming gifts:

  • Obviously, you want to try hard to give gifts that will be appreciated by the receiver(s). So I always ask myself, “Is this a style that <name> would like?” Don’t pick anything too “out there” and then put them in the awkward position of having to display something that is not remotely their taste.
  • If you’re not sure if someone will like a bold/bright pattern or a strongly scented item, always err on the side of playing it safe. For instance, this candle from Target is a very subtle scent, nothing overpowering. It’s pretty neutral and I think it can be appreciated by almost anyone. Plus, it’s soy so it’s eco-friendly–always a plus in my book. 🙂
  • Make the packaging part of the gift—I wanted the gift to encompass even the packaging. Doing so means you can really focus on the presentation as a whole and you don’t need to use extraneous wrapping paper, boxes, etc that end up as waste in the end. I opted for a pretty decorative basket. You can also use a large mason jar, apothecary jars, a serving bowl, wrap a gift in tea towels, you get the idea. Get creative!
  • I chose not to add a tag to my little basket this time, but I do love this free printable housewarming gift tag created by Julie Blanner. Check it and her out–she’s awesome!

housewarming gift

And if you are still stuck for ideas, here are another 12 ideas/4 combinations for making your own housewarming gift basket:

Combo #1

  • spoon rest
  • cookbook
  • apron

Combo #2

  • bottle of wine
  • pretty wine stopper
  • a couple nice bottles of infused olive oil & vinegar

Combo #3

  • set of cloth napkins
  • trivet
  • cleaning supplies

Combo #4

  • nice coaster set
  • personalized stamp with couple’s new address
  • home decorating coffee table book

Good luck and have a great day!

R

Leave a Reply

