This is 30

Hi Folks,

I know I usually do my “Bright Delights” series every Friday, but I hope you’ll forgive my breaking format this week, as I’ve been in Wisconsin for work organizing our annual customer golf event and I haven’t had a free moment. On top of that I’ve been sick! What is with summer colds?? Isn’t that an oxymoron?

Anyway, in lieu of the usual Friday post, I’m going to share a couple photos from when I turned the big 3-0. These pictures are from the actual day (Labor Day) and not from the fiesta-themed party we hosted for about 30 friends on Saturday. I might have been a bit too inebriated to operate a camera of any sort that day. The memories from that day will have to live on in my head only, I’m afraid. But suffice to say, it was a nice afternoon spent with some of my favorite people!

My actual birthday was very low-key…exactly what I wanted. Jeff couldn’t stand to wait for me to open my presents, so I opened them pretty much immediately after waking up. He worked hard to make a beautiful presentation, as you can see below (yes, he spoils me). Then he took me out for a birthday breakfast, and afterward we relaxed around the house watching movies together.

Later in the afternoon we got dressed up for dinner out with my Mom. She met us at the house, bringing with her a mouthwatering carrot cake (a longtime family recipe she procured from my uncle a couples days before). I opened a few gifts from her and then we went to dinner together at John Davenport’s–a restaurant at the top of the Omni Hotel in New Haven, which provides beautiful panoramic views of the city. A pretty perfect day all in all!

How did you spend Labor Day weekend?

R

carrot cake

birthday

Leave a Reply

