10 Bright Ideas for DIY Advent Calendars

I am an adult and I still enjoy the anticipation of  what the advent calendar holds each day leading up to Christmas. I don’t think I will ever tire of it, in fact.

I’ve always done the tried-and-true commercial chocolate advent calendar, but this year my interest in DIY-ing as much as possible led me to some really cool and unique handmade advent calendars. I am absolutely amazed by the boundless creativity out there, aren’t you? These crafters inspired me, and I hope they inspire you too!

So without further delay, here’s my round-up of 10 DIY advent calendars–which one will you try?

Family Photo Advent Calendar by Making Lemonade. Besides being absolutely adorable, I love that it is family-focused.

Christmas_advent_calendar_10

Baby Sock Advent Calendar by Martha Stewart. This sock idea is too cute for words and I love the sentimentality.

baby-sock-advent-calendar-martha-stewart

Advent Activity Mini Tree Kit by Laura Winslow Photography. What a lovely presentation! And this tutorial also includes free printables.

Laura-Winslow-Photography-Advent-Activity-Mini-Tree-Kit(pp_w759_h759)

Luminary Advent Calendar by Design Dining and Diapers

luminary-advent-calendar

Advent Calendar Holiday Countdown by I Heart Organizing. I love the compact box idea and Jen also includes adorable free activity printables.

advent-calendar-i-heart-organizing

Book a Day Advent Calendar by Delia Creates. You can also find some great book suggestions by age group and free label printables from A Day in Your Shoes.

delia-creates-advent-calendar

Simple & Natural Advent Calendar by Julie Blanner, Coordinately Yours. You can whip this one up in 10 minutes and I love the rustic, understated presentation.

diy-advent-calendar

Mason Jar Advent Calendar by Eclectically Vintage. I LOVE mason jars – especially the limited edition blue ones – so I had to share this sweet idea.

Jar-Advent-Calendar- eclectically-vintage

Another Mason Jar Advent Calendar (for good measure!) by The Inspiration Network. I love how she personalizes with a label inscribed with the receiver’s name.

Mason-Advent-Calendar-1-559x559

Sparkly Ornament Advent Calendar by Whipperberry. Let the kids hang an ornament on the tree each night leading up to Christmas – another fantastic idea and a tradition I think I’m going to start!

Ornament-Advent-Calendar-A-Pretty-Life7-_edited-1

Rebecca Cretella

Leave a Reply

